Questions on enrolling? We're here 9am-8pm ET Mon-Fri 1 800-583-1736

Photo Fact Friday: Categorizing Color

By Michelle Ecker on October 16, 2015


It’s Photo Fact Friday at NYIP! Every Friday afternoon, tune in right here on our photography blog for a new piece of advice from NYIP’s photography mentors, a team of successful photographers that works with our students to help them grow.

Photo Fact Friday: Categorizing Color

Here is today’s tip:

“In photography, color can be classified in three unique ways- by hue, saturation or brightness. When speaking professionally with clients, it’s important for you to reference said categories accurately. Here are the basic differences:

  • Hue is the main distinction of color, of which there are six; red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet. So if we offered you a piece of licorice and told you it was red, we’d be referring to the candy’s hue.
  • Brightness measures how light or dark that hue is.
  • Saturation refers to the relative power of the color. More saturated colors are purer and richer, while less saturated colors are subdued and less vibrant.

As photographers, adjustments of these 3 categories can have a massive impact on the mood and message of the work we put out. A cool blue shot taken after winter’s first snow, for example, communicates feelings of wintry chill, whereas a shot of the sun setting over an island ocean would seem more appropriate in a pink or red.

Want to learn more? NYIP offers accredited photography classes that can help you improve your hobby or start a new career. Request your free course catalog today!